• Loving The Alien - 5:35
  • Sister Europe - 3:58
  • Heaven - 4:27
  • Complicated Game - 5:27
  • Berlin - 0:49
  • All The Way - 3:14

  • All Tomorrow's Parties - 4:34
  • Let There Be Love - 4:32
  • Disappointed - 5:25
  • Really Good Time - 3:22
  • At Night - 3:55
  • Love Like Blood - 5:46
  • Heroes - 4:24


1995 Australian release

The Berlin Tapes is a covers / soundtrack album. The record was a collaboration between Iva Davies and composer Max Lambert to accompany the Sydney Dance Company's production of the ballet "Berlin", for which Icehouse performed live on stage. The covers are mostly acoustic, with piano, strings and subtle electronica incorporated into most tracks.

The record was initially released as a single or double disc set, with the second disc consisting of instrumental Icehouse tracks performed with the ballet. A 1996 Japanese re-release included three bonus tracks; a 2002 digitally remastered version with five bonus tracks was released in Australia - this time credited simply to Icehouse.

It was re-released in Australia in August 2004 and re-titled as Heroes coinciding with Seven Network's TV broadcast of the Athens Olympic Games, which had two tracks removed and a second mix of "Heroes" added. "Heroes" (The Athens Mix), a cover of David Bowie's original hit, was released in August 2004 and peaked at #93 on the Australian singles charts

Released: October 1995

Iva Davies - Vocals, acoustic and bass guitars, keyboards, programming
Max Lambert - Piano
Paul Wheeler - Drums
Adrian Wallis - Cello
Additional programming and arrangement - David Chapman
Additional bass guitar - Steve Bull

Label: Diva Records

Produced by: Iva Davies

Front Cover - Katherine Griffiths, Sydney Dance Company
Photography by Greg Barrett
Design by Mark Denning Graphics