• Paradise - 4:44
  • No Promsises - 4:39
  • Mr Big - 3:32
  • Angel Street - 4:44
  • The Flame - 4:45

  • Regular Boys - 3:31
  • Cross The Border - 4:22
  • Spanish Gold - 4:15
  • Lucky Me - 4:37
  • Baby Your So Strange - 4:37


1986 Australian release

Measure for Measure is the April 1986 studio album by Icehouse and was the 3rd album in the world to be recorded entirely digitally. The album, which peaked at #8 on the National albums charts, features the singles, No Promises ,Baby You're So Strange, Mr Big, Cross the Border and Paradise. No Promises had been released as a 7" vinyl single in November 1985, it peaked at #30 on the Australian singles charts. No Promises was used for the Boxes ballet created by Iva Davies and Robert Kretschmer together with Sydney Dance Company's choreographer Graeme Murphy, Davies and Kretschmer performed the score with guest percussonist Masaki Tanazawa.

Both No Promises and Cross the Border were remixed and released as 12" singles, and while a major US pop hit would elude them until the following year, No Promises went Top 10 on both the Billboard Rock tracks and Dance / Club charts. Cross the Border did not see as much club play in the US, but was a Top 20 rock hit there. In Australia, the two further singles lifted from the album, Baby You're So Strange and Mr Big, both reached the pop Top 20, interestingly higher than the Australian chartings of the singles which achieved international success. Paradise was released as a late 1986 US / UK single but achieved no notable chart success in either market.

Released: 21-April-1986

Iva Davies - Lead vocals, guitars, keyboards, Fairlight Music Computer
Robert Kretschmer - Lead guitars, guitar treatments
Guy Pratt - Bass guitar, fretless bass
Simon Lloyd - Reeds and brass, solo trumpet, keyboard programmes, Fairlight
Andy Qunta - Keyboards, Backing vocals
Steve Jansen - Drums and percussion
Masaki Tanazawa - Drums and percussion
Brian Eno - Backing vocals, treated piano and keyboards

Label: Regular Records
Producer - David Lord, Rhett Davies
Cover Photography - Brett Cabot
Artwork - David McKenzie